Food: Steak in Pontocho Kyoto

Pontocho is famous in Kyoto for being an old styled street with some very classy resturants frequented by maiko and geisha.

IMG_5677.JPG

In the summer many of them build wooden terraces across the water at the back, so you can sit out and enjoy the summer evening air.

I was super lucky to have steak at one of the mid range restaurants the other day, Inayoshi.

IMG_5659.JPG

The day we went it was also a super moon aka moon viewing and from my seat inside I could look out over the terrace and see the shiny moon.

IMG_5628.JPG

I’m pretty sure the place is by reservation only, and on a Monday night there were a few diners but only 6/10 of the tables were occupied on our visit.

IMG_5629.JPG

The service was good, very polite and in a mix of English and Japanese.

We already reserved the steak course, and our menu was printed out for us by our placemats.

IMG_5641.JPG

Wow. So many courses! It was kaiseki so we ate lots of small dishes (and some not so small!).

First we had this little box.

IMG_5631.JPG

IMG_5632.JPG

Some thinly cut beef in a milk sauce? It was cold and milky and grey. Not unpleasant just unusual!

IMG_5633.JPG

Mini dishes of…

IMG_5674.JPG

Creamy mousse of some veg and beef underneath.

IMG_5675.JPG

Beef and veg terrine.

IMG_5676.JPG

No idea, but it was salty.

IMG_5673.JPG

IMG_5636.JPG

…beef something?

IMG_5635.JPG

Excuse me, what is all this?! Ok, I’ll just go for it and try it!

It was all nice apart from the dish that looked like melon.

IMG_5637.JPG

Cold creamy carrot and pumpkin soup.

IMG_5640.JPG

Beef sushi. So. Delicious.

IMG_5642.JPG

A huge salad, which was the size of my salad I had for dinner the night before.

IMG_5670.JPG

Steak sauces and salt, one was mustard and another soy based.

IMG_5643.JPG

Wasabi for the steak.

IMG_5644.JPG

Js sirloin.

IMG_5647.JPG

My fillet.

Yuuuuuumiii!

The sauces were nice but for me the salt and wasabi combo was the best!

IMG_5650.JPG

Next was beef curry rice for me and for J beef hayashi and rice.

IMG_5651.JPG

Finally the last plate – desserts! Mango pudding, soda jelly, agar and cake with coffee sauce. Thank god there was no beef flavoured desert.

IMG_5656.JPG

Finished with some green tea.

Omg I ate so much! I’m such a picky eater my mother will be proud of me for at least trying everything. The steak was amazing I’ll be dreaming of having it again!

The price was ¥10,000 a person, and the wine was ¥5,000. I’m so lucky J had some vouchers and so we actually ate for free otherwise we’d have never gone!

IMG_5665.JPG

I hoped you enjoyed looking at my dinner!

One thought on “Food: Steak in Pontocho Kyoto

  1. Pingback: Kyoto: Wedding Anniversary | liemzie

Leave a Reply

