Ninja Resturant Kyoto

Last weekend we had some friends from the UK visiting, on Sunday we went to Arashiyama and Kyoto, and after seeing the main tourist sights – Gion, Kiyomizudera, the bamboo grove, we stopped by another tourist spot…the Ninja Restaurant.

20130527-120158.jpg

We only had to wait a few minutes to get a table, and a ninja appeared to take us to our table via a mini maze. I have to admit I was a little disorientated by the time I got to my table!

There is a service charge to pay (around ¥340) and so we got a tiny appetizer, some ninja stars on a tree.

20130527-120458.jpg

To summon a waiter/ninja you press a hidden button, except ours wouldn’t work…eventually we flagged down a ninja and placed our orders. I thought the menu was ok, although some if not most of the starters were more expensive than the mains. I decided to try ninja style carbonara. The ninja part is that it is black underneath!

20130527-120927.jpg

Near the end when it was really like grey sludge it was a case of mind over matter to get it eaten, it looked so wrong, but tasted of normal average carbonara.

The saving grace of the meal was the ninja magician! I’d been expecting more ninja hijinks whilst eating but we didn’t experience any. I’d heard from friends about the ninja magician and had been looking forward to it, but we’d eaten up and were contemplating paying our bill before he made an appearance.

20130527-121254.jpg

This guy was awesome, he made coins appear and disappear, and one reappear in my hands! He did a card tick and I was the lucky one to chose the card, so it was so much more impressive to me as I know he didn’t lead me to pick a particular one. We were all like ‘how did he do that?!’ for hours afterwards.

I would rate my trip to the restaurant at 6/10, the food was interesting but average, the service a little slow, they forgot one of my husbands orders and with a service charge and 10% tip required a little overpriced. I definitely expected more ninja tomfoolery and surprises. Although the ninja magician was excellent.

2 thoughts on “Ninja Resturant Kyoto

  1. Ohhh, the concept sounds really interesting ! But I don’t know if I’d be able to eat pasta with black/grey sauce xD !

Leave a Reply

