Kera Tea Party Report!

I didn’t get many pictures, as not sure they were allowed, so here is a terrible outfit mirror shot and head shot before I left. I got the hat from Emsexcite for ¥1995 but it needed more ribbon or flowers or something, so I stuck my Miho Matsuda bow on there.

20130328-003206.jpg

20130328-003239.jpg

20130328-003221.jpg
I wore the hat, Rococo Bouquet long OP in green from Victorian Maiden and pink bow heels. I also twisted my hair and put it in a bun.

The event was to showcase and promote the uUeda College of Fashion (where you can take a gothic lolita course) alongside Kera. We arrived just in time for things to start, and got quickly ushered downstairs to take a Kera snap! Wow my first! It was over so quick I’m sure I looked like a startled deer! As we were late we didn’t have time to complete our forms properly and I had to leave the ‘point of style’ bit blank – I would have just written ‘Spring!’ anyway.

20130327-223522.jpg

It started with introductions and the fashion show! We saw Metamorphose, Marple, Baby the Stars shine bright, Alice and the pirates and some of the students final pieces. Midori and Yu Kimura modeled for the event and at the end had an interview with the presenter and played a quiz game! Our table did terrible we only got 2 points! Apparenty Midori is going to be a teacher at the college from June (no idea what she will be teaching though!). A designer for Alice and the Pirates was also at the event, she spoke a little and presented a prize to one of the fashion contest winners.

20130327-223544.jpg

After that it was over.

We walked down a floor to look at the Kera shop area, but it was really lacking. As we were stood talking one of the organizers told us to go back up. We didn’t know why but thought, why not?! When we went back into the event room a small circle of chairs had been set up and the female presenter and the Alice and the Pirates designer were there….we had a private audience with her! There were only 11 of us! We listened to her talk about her work and her fashion background and then we got to ask questions. Via Lona I asked her how long it took from having an idea to it being available to buy in the shop. I was expecting it to be 6-12months, but she said it usually only took a month! They work to a very tight schedule, one day for pattern cutting, one to send to the factory and get a sample etc… I was so surprised! The designer was really sweet and spoke to me in English a little afterwards, she’s taking English lessons at the moment as when she travels to other countries for conventions with Alice and the Pirates there is hardly ever an interpreter for her. Which is interesting as I know plenty of lolitas who speak Japanese well and would love to interpret for the lolita brands!

We were all pretty hungry by then (5pm!) as the tea party had only consisted of one glass of tea and a small handful of sweets on a plate! So we went to Umeda station for dinner and purikura before heading home.

20130328-093026.jpg

You can still see some of the footage from the event here including the chat with Midori and Yu Kimura.

Edit: kera report here, my back made it! Lol.

3 thoughts on “Kera Tea Party Report!

    • My Japanese is basic at best, I went with two friends who kindly translated some imp or interesting things for me. It’s surprising how much you can get the gist of though! x

  1. Pingback: Lolita: UEDA x Kera Tea Party 2014 | liemzie

Leave a Reply

